Best app to study for the private pilot written exam
There is no single best app; pick by budget. Free: Sporty's Study Buddy on the web (its whole question bank and unlimited 60-question tests) and the Aeroapps Private Pilot Test Prep app (free tier with over 900 FAA questions, 4.9 from 1.5K App Store ratings). Cheapest paid apps: ASA Prepware ($9.99) and Sporty's app ($14.99). Want lessons plus the endorsement to test: King Schools ($299) or Pilot Institute ($249).
We sell Rotate, so its row is marked. Every price links to the page or App Store listing where we read it. Comparing the big three courses? See Sporty's vs King Schools vs Gleim.
Private pilot written test apps compared
| App or product | Price | What you get | Endorsement | Watch out |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AeroappsPrivate Pilot Test Prep - FAA (app)Source | Freein-app upgrades: Test Prep $49.99, Ground School $149.99 | Over 900 FAA questions with explanations in the free version, practice examsiOS | Not stated on the product page | The ground school and full test-prep features are paid upgrades. |
| ASAPrepware Private Pilot (iOS app)Source | $9.99one-time App Store purchase | Questions, answers and explanations by subject, plus a true-to-form practice testiOS | No | No lessons; App Store rating 3.9 from 137 reviews. |
| Sporty'sPrivate Pilot Test Prep (Study Buddy app)Source | $14.99one-time App Store purchase | Learning mode, flashcards and 60-question simulated tests with explanationsiOS | No | The web version is free, so the app mostly buys offline convenience. Rating 4.3 from 115 reviews. |
| DauntlessGroundSchool Private Pilot test bankSource | $59.99-$64.99one-time per platform (Windows price shown; Mac, iOS and Android sold in their stores) | FAA written test question bank with explanationsWindows, Mac, iOS, Android | No | Each platform is a separate purchase. |
| Rotate PilotRotate Premium (or the Private Pilot Pass)Source | $7.49 first monththen $14.99/mo, cancel anytime; or $69 once for the Private Pilot Pass | 560+ PPL questions with explanations, timed 60-question PAR simulations, flashcards, AI tutorWeb app (phone, tablet or computer browser); no native exam-prep app | No | No video ground school and no endorsement to take the test: you still need your CFI's. |
Want lessons, not just questions? Courses compared
| App or product | Price | What you get | Endorsement | Watch out |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sporty'sLearn to Fly Course: Private Pilot Ground SchoolSource | $299one-time; the course page says it never expires | Video ground school plus test prep; the free Study Buddy bank has over 1,000 questionsOnline, app and TV | Not stated on the product page | The free Study Buddy already covers the question practice; the $299 buys the video course. |
| King SchoolsPrivate Pilot Online Ground School & Test PrepSource | $299one-time, lifetime access; the Complete Private Pilot course with checkride prep is $349 | About 15 hours of video, FAA-style questions with explanations, unlimited practice examsOnline, plus free ground school and test prep apps | Yes, after you finish the course | The most expensive option here for the written alone. |
| GleimFAA Test Prep Online: Private PilotSource | $79.9512 months of access | Over 760 multiple-choice questions, aligned with the Gleim Private Pilot Knowledge Test bookOnline | Not stated on the product page | Access ends after 12 months; the book is sold separately. |
| Pilot InstitutePrivate Pilot Ground SchoolSource | $249one-time, lifetime access | Video course with over 800 practice questionsOnline | Yes, after you finish the course | You must finish 100% of the course and score 80%+ on two timed exams to get the endorsement. |
Sheppard Air does not sell Private Pilot written prep. Its own page says the free courses are enough for the Private Pilot test and points students to AOPA's free resources and Sporty's free Study Buddy. Source.
Free private pilot study resources
Sporty's Study Buddy (free online)
Sporty's whole question database and unlimited timed 60-question tests.
60 FAA-published PAR questions with answers
The FAA's own sample questions, each answer explained with its 14 CFR, AIM or PHAK source.
FAA Pilot's Handbook of Aeronautical Knowledge (PHAK)
The official FAA textbook for the private pilot knowledge areas. Free PDF.
Rotate free practice test
A 5-question score check graded instantly with explanations. No signup.
Drill the private pilot written with Rotate
560+ PPL questions, timed 60-question PAR simulations, flashcards and an AI tutor in your browser.
$7.49 first month, then $14.99/mo. Cancel anytime. 30-day money-back guarantee.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the best app to study for the private pilot written exam?
There is no single best app; pick by budget. Free: Sporty's Study Buddy on the web (its whole question bank and unlimited 60-question tests) and the Aeroapps Private Pilot Test Prep app (free tier with over 900 FAA questions, 4.9 from 1.5K App Store ratings). Cheapest paid apps: ASA Prepware ($9.99) and Sporty's app ($14.99). Want lessons plus the endorsement to test: King Schools ($299) or Pilot Institute ($249). Prices checked October 5, 2026.
Can I pass the private pilot written with free materials?
Yes, many students do. Sheppard Air does not sell Private Pilot written prep. Its own page says the free courses are enough for the Private Pilot test and points students to AOPA's free resources and Sporty's free Study Buddy. Free options: Sporty's Study Buddy online, the FAA handbooks (PHAK, Airplane Flying Handbook, Aviation Weather Handbook) and the FAA's own sample questions, which Rotate publishes with answers at rotatepilot.com/faa-questions/ppl.
Do study apps give you the endorsement to take the test?
Not the apps compared here. You need an instructor endorsement or a pilot-school graduation certificate (14 CFR 61.35, 61.71). Your CFI can give it; King Schools and Pilot Institute publish that their courses give it once you finish.
How many questions are on the FAA private pilot written exam?
60 scored questions plus 5 unscored, 2 hours, 70% to pass, three answer choices each. In 2025, 89.56% of 44,657 attempts passed (FAA test statistics).
How much does Rotate cost for the private pilot written?
$7.49 for the first month with PILOT50, then $14.99/mo, cancel anytime. It is a web app with 560+ PPL questions, timed 60-question PAR simulations, flashcards and an AI tutor. No video lessons and no endorsement.
How long should I study for the private pilot written exam?
Most students take four to eight weeks of regular study. A practical readiness check: you keep scoring 85% or more on full 60-question timed practice tests, well above the 70% pass mark.
Share this with a fellow pilot